2017/18 Wessex League Structure Announced

The 2017/18 Wessex Basketball League structure has been announced and it sees Aztecs represented in every division.

The Jaguars under the watchful eye of Coach Purvey will again be battling it out in the Wessex Open Division 1 which consists of nine teams including the likes of the always strong South Bucks Comets, local rivals Yateley Silverbacks and newly promoted Basingstoke Blizzards.

The Lemmings will be competing in Wessex Open Division 2 which includes newly promoted Farnborough Phoenix and Wolfpack Wolves in an eight team league.

The Falcons are in the 10-team Wessex Open Division 3 which includes new outfits in Bracknell amongst the new competitors on the league.

On the women’s side of the club, the Storm will be looking to continue their success from last season, winning Wessex Ladies Division 1 in a seven-team division which will no doubt involve tough battles against their closest rivals, Aldworth Arrows who the Storm narrowly edged out last season to win the title if they want to retain their title.

The Suns will look to continue to improve on last season’s finish in Wessex Ladies Division 2, under coach Trinder when the season gets underway in late September.

All men’s divisions will involve teams playing each other home and away. In the women’s divisions, teams play each other 3 times.

Be sure to keep an eye on our new and improved website for the latest results, match reports and league tables when the season gets underway next month.

Wessex Divisions for 2017/ 2018 Season:



Leave a Comment